Friday, November 28, 2008

Opeth's Tour Dates Updates

Swedish progressive metallers OPETH have scheduled the following dates in their home country:

Feb. 12 - Close-Up Båten's Metal Cruise 2009
Feb. 18 - Malmö, Sweden - KB
Feb. 19 - Linköping, Sweden - Platens Bar
Feb. 25 - Örebro, Sweden - Club 700
Feb. 26 - Falun, Sweden - Arena
Feb. 27 - Gävle, Sweden - O Learys
Feb. 28 - Umeå, Sweden - House of Metal Fest

Deathstars has a new song called "Death Dies Hard"

Swedish industrial goth metal band DEATHSTARS has posted a new song called "Death Dies Hard" on its MySpace page. The track comes off the group's third album, "Night Electric Night", which will be released on January 30, 2009 via Nuclear Blast Records. The CD, which was mixed atToytown studios in Stockholm, Sweden with Stefan Glaumann, will be released in a deluxe package called "Gold Edition" featuring bonus tracks as well as a bonus DVD featuring six video clips, "making-of" footage and more. The "Gold Edition" will be released as a digibook with new cover artwork (see below).

Commented guitarist, songwriter and producer Emil "Nightmare Industries" Nödtveidt: "This album is the very mirror of our last years and our struggle through this time up until now. It deals with a whole spectrum of emotions, but without losing that straightforward nerve of raw dark feverish rock music a la DEATHSTARS. Even though the songs vary more now, from the ripping 'Night Electric Night' to the seriousness in 'Via the End', which I wrote the very night I found out about my brother's suicide [Emil's brother was DISSECTION frontman Jon Nödtveidt — Ed.], it holds an honest consequence right through the album."

According to a press release, "Night Electric Night" is about DEATHSTARS' "lives and their experiences, their personal issues and the action/horror drama which represents the manic environment that the band exists within. It deals a lot with reflections of situations right then and there."

"Night Electric Night" track listing:


01. Chertograd
02. Night Electric Night
03. Death Dies Hard
04. Mark Of The Gun
05. Via The End
06. Blood Stains Blondes
07. Babylon
08. The Fuel Ignites
09. Arclight
10. Venus In Arms
11. Opium

Bonus Tracks: (only on limited gold edition)

12. Night Electric Night (Skinny remix)
13. Via The End (piano version)
14. Night Electric Night (feat. Adrian Erlandsson)


Clip Selection:

Death Dies Hard
Virtue To Vice
Synthetic Generation

Bonus Material:

* Making of "Death Dies Hard"
* Making of "Virtue to Vice"
* Making of "Blitzkrieg"
* Making of "Cyanide"

Includes screensaver and wallpapers

Picture LP in gatefold:

Side A:

01. Chertograd
02. Night Electric Night
03. Death Dies Hard
04. The Mark Of The Gun
05. Via The End
06. Blood Stains Blondes

Side B:

01. Babylon
02. The Fuel Ignites
03. Arclight
04. Venus In Arms
05. Opium

The first single, "Death Dies Hard", will be released as a digital download only on January 2.

GUNS N' ROSES' new album, "Chinese Democracy" Updates

GUNS N' ROSES' new album, "Chinese Democracy", has registered the following first-week chart positions so far (Note: The album wasn't available a full week in most of these territories when the charts were compiled):

Finland: #1
Ireland: #3
Netherlands: #4
Sweden: #4

Early U.S. sales reports suggest that "Chinese Democracy", which was released through an exclusive deal with the Best Buy chain, might not be the blockbuster the industry had hoped for, according to The New York Times. Sales figures will not be available until next week, but early estimates put the first-week total at 300,000 copies (including a reported 25,000 downloads at iTunes on November 23 not counted towards the opening week for the Sunday release) — roughly 50,000 more than the opening number registered by "Contraband", the 2004 debut from VELVET REVOLVER, which features in its ranks Rose's former GUNS N' ROSESbandmates SlashDuff McKagan and Matt SorumKANYE WEST's new album, "808s and Heartbreak", will be No. 1 on next week's Billboard chart with a total that looks to be between 450,000 and 500,000.